New Delhi, March 14: The Bharatiya Janata Party is leading in Gorakhpur as the counting for parliamentary bye-elections began on Wednesday. The party had also taken early lead in Phulpur; however, the Samajwadi Party candidate got ahead by 1,400 votes at the end of round one of the counting.

In Gorakhpur, which is BJP’s bastion, the party took a big lead of 3,000 votes in the very first round. The constituency is Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath’s fiefdom.

In Uttar Pradesh, the National Democratic Alliance has 71 seats, whereas the Samajwadi Party has 5 seats. The Congress party has just 2 seats in its kitty.

The Phulpur constituency was held by deputy CM Keshav Prasad Maurya. The election was necessitated after he was elected as an MLC. In Gorakhpur, CM Yogi Adityanath had vacated his seat.

The BJP fielded Kaushalendra Singh Patel from Phulpur and Upendra Dutt Shukla from Gorakhpur against the Samajwadi Party’s Pravin Nishad and Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel respectively.