Lucknow, July 16: The polling for the election of block heads is underway in Uttar Pradesh. The last date of filing nominations for the same was July 14. The counting of votes will be held on Sunday after the polling concludes. The poll is being held to elect 26 block heads in different districts. The notification of the same was issued by the State Election Commission (SEC) on July 6.

According to a media report, the by-elections are taking place at Auraiya, Farrukhabad, Mau and Sant Kabirnagar. The elections are being conducted after sitting chairpersons lost majority support after a no-confidence motion was moved against them. Reportedly, out of the 26 blocks where by-elections will be held, 10 heads resigned during the no-confidence motion whereas, 14 others failed to prove enough support. In remaining two blocks, the seat remained vacant due to the death of the sitting heads.

Apart from this, the state will also witness zilla panchayant chairperson election. As per the notification by the SEC, the last date to file the nomination for the same is July 17 and the polling and counting of votes will be held on July 23. The poll will be conducted for the election of chairperson of 10 zilla panchayats. The election for new zilla panchayat chairpersons is being held following the resignation of sitting chairpersons in Kaushambi, Ghazipur, Bulandshahr, Meerut, Rampur and Lakhimpur Kheri, a report claims.