Ahmedabad, Dec 5: Surat will go to polls on December 9 in the first phase of Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017. One of the key districts of Gujarat, Surat has 16 Assembly constituencies and is one of the areas to watch out for. Surat is a trade hub not just in Gujarat, but the whole country. It will, therefore, be interesting to see how Goods and Services Tax and demonetisation have impacted the election here.

Meanwhile, the Patidar factor will also be one to watch out for in these polls. With Patidar leader Hardik Patel carrying out a massive road show in Surat, all eyes are on the district. Here is a break down of the Assembly constituencies that fall in the Surat district:

Majura Vidhan Sabha Seat

The Majura Assembly seat came into being after 2008. In 2012, BJP’s Harsh Rameshkumar Sanghvi had defeated Congress’s Jain Dhanpatraj Lalchand by a massive margin of about 70,000 votes. The BJP has fielded incumbent Sanghvi against Congress’s Kothari Ashok Mohanlal this election. The NCP has fielded Desai Alpesh Ishwarbhai. Get the results for Majura seat here.

Katargam Vidhan Sabha Seat

Katargam, the constituency that came into existence after 2008, witnessed a massive roadshow by Patidar leader Hardik Patel. In 2012, BJP’s Nanubhai Bhagavanbhai Vanani had defeated Congress’s Nandlal Kalabhai Pandav by over 40,000 votes. The BJP has this election fielded Vinodbhai Amarshibhai Moradiya (Vinubhai Ningala) against Congress’s Jignesh Jivani (Mevasa). The NCP has fielded Nayan Nathubhai Mavani while Nagajibhai B. Ambaliya is AAP’s candidate. Get the results for Katargam seat here.

Surat City West Vidhan Sabha Seat

In 2012 assembly polls, BJP’s Purneshkumar Ishwarial Modi (Purnesh Modi) had won the seat with 86,061 votes, defeating Congress’s Dalpatbhai Laxman Bhai Patel. This seat has been a BJP stronghold since 1990. This election, the BJP has yet again fielded Modi against Congress’s Patel Iqbal Daud. The NCP has fielded Paliwal Ravishankar Chunihlal. Get the results for Surat West seat here.

Choryasi Vidhan Sabha Seat

The Choryasi seat has been with the BJP since 1995. Choryasi has a majority of voters from Uttar Pradesh and Bihar. In 2012, BJP’s Hitesh Patel had defeated Dhansukhbhai Bhagwatiprasad Rajput by almost 45,000 votes. This election, the BJP has fielded Patel again against Patel Yogesh Bhagwan. Get the results for Choryasi seat here.

Bardoli Vidhan Sabha Seat

Bardoli has mostly been a Congress stronghold even as the BJP won it in 2012. BJP’s Ishwarbhai Parmar Alias Anilbhai Ramanbhai defeated Congress’s Nitinbhai Gopalbhai Rana in 2012. The BJP is banking on Ishwarbhai yet again this election. The Congress has fielded Tarunkumar Jagubhai Vaghela. Get the results of Bardoli seat here.

Mahuva Vidhan Sabha Seat

Mahuva has been a BJP stronghold since 1998. In 2012, BJP’s Makwana Bhavanaben Raghavbhai had defeated Independent candidate Bharatkumar Bhaskarrao Thakar. This election BJP has fielded Dhodiya Mohanbhai Dhanjibhai while Congress has fielded Chaudhari Dr. Tusharbhai Amarsinhbhai. Get the results for Mahuva seat here.

Gujarat will go to polls in two phases. Voting for the first phase will take place on December 9 while voting for the second phase will take place on December 14. Counting of votes will take place on December 18 along with results for Himachal Pradesh Assembly elections.