Ahmedabad, Dec 4: Surat is set to go to polls on December 9 in the first phase of Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017. One of the key districts of Gujarat, Surat has 16 Assembly constituencies and is one of the areas to watch out for. Surat is a trade hub not just in Gujarat, but the whole country. It will, therefore, be interesting to see how Goods and Services Tax and demonetisation have impacted the election here.

Meanwhile, the Patidar factor will also be one to watch out for in these polls. With Patidar leader Hardik Patel carrying out a massive road show in Surat, all eyes are on the district. Here is a break down of the Assembly constituencies that fall in the Surat district:

Surat City North Vidhan Sabha Seat

Surat City North has been a Bharatiya Janata Party stronghold since 1990. Last election BJP’s Ajaykumar Jashvantlal Choksi defeated his Congress counterpart by over 20,000 votes. This election, the BJP has fielded Balar Kantibhai Himmatbhai against Congress’s Kachhadiya Dineshbhai Manubhai. Get the results for the Surat North seat here.

Varachha Road Vidhan Sabha Seat

The Varachha Road Assembly seat is going to see the same contest that it witnessed in the 2012 Gujarat Assembly election. The BJP has fielded its incumbent MLA Kishorbhai Shivabhai Kanani against Congress’s previous election’s candidate Gajera Dhrubhai Haribhai. Last election Kanani had defeated Haribhai by about 20,000 votes. Get the results of Varachha Road seat here.

Karanj Vidhan Sabha Seat

In 2012, BJP’s Kachhadiya Janakbhai Manjibhai had defeated Congress’s Zalavadiya Jaysukhbhai Devchandbhai by a huge margin of over 45,000 votes. This election, the BJP has fielded Ghoghari Pravinbhai Manjibhai against Congress’s Bhumbhaliya Bhaveshbhai Govindbhai (Advocate) and Aam Aadmi Party’s Mehta Jignesh Dhirajlal. Get the results of Karanj seat here.

Limbayat Vidhan Sabha Seat

Limbayat is a constituency that is dominated by people from other states such as Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh and other North Indian states. In 2012, BJP’s Sangitaben Rajendrabhai Patil had defeated Congress’s Sonvane Suresh Mohan by about 30,000 votes. This election, the NCP has also fielded a candidate here. While BJP has fielded Sangitaben yet again, the Congress has fielded Patil Ravindra Suklal while NCP has fielded UP’s Ansari Akram Vahidulla. Get the results of Limbayat seat here.

Udhna Vidhan Sabha Seat

The Udhna seat came into existence after 2008 delimitation. In 2012, BJP’s Narottambhai Patel had defeated Congress’s Rajput Dhansukhbhai Bhagwatiprasad by over 30,000 votes. The BJP has yet again fielded Patel, who will this election be contesting against Congress’s Patel Satishbhai Champakbhai. The NCP has fielded Suryavanshi Harishbhai Champaklal here. Get the results of Udhna seat here.

Gujarat will go to polls in two phases. Voting for the first phase will take place on December 9 while voting for the second phase will take place on December 14. Counting of votes will take place on December 18 along with results for Himachal Pradesh Assembly elections.