Washington, Dec 7: The United States President Donald Trump’s announcement for the recognition of the holy city of Jerusalem as Israel’s capital has not gone down well with the international community as a host of countries and international bodies have criticised the move. With Arab world infuriated, even the closest US allies including the United Kingdom are not in support of the decision. The United Nations Secretary General Antonio Guterres, European Union’s top diplomat, Federica Mogherini, and even Pope Francis have expressed concerns.

The United States allies like Britain, France, Germany and Italy have called the decision a mistake. German Chancellor Angela Merkel said on Wednesday that she and the German government didn’t support the United States’ position because “the status of Jerusalem is to be resolved in the framework of a two-state solution.”

Australia’s foreign minister Julie Bishop said that she was concerned by any unilateral action by either side on the issue. She said that the government was “committed and optimistic that the way to achieve enduring peace between the Israelis and Palestinians is a negotiated two-state solution.”

British Prime Minister Theresa May called Donald Trump‘s decision was not helping the prospects of peace in the region. French President Emmanuel Macron called Trump’s decision “regrettable”.

“Jerusalem holy city, unique on earth. Its future will be defined within the framework of the peace process based on the two states, Israel and Palestine,” Italian Prime Minister Paolo Gentiloni wrote on Twitter.

Pope Francis said that he could not remain silent on the issue and he wished that status quo of the city must be respected, “in accordance with the relevant resolutions of the United Nations.”

Israel was the only country that welcomed Trump’s decision. Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu said it was “historic” and a “courageous and just decision”.

Meanwhile, eight countries on the 15-member United Nations Security Council has requested UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres to publicly brief the members. The countries include France, Bolivia, Egypt, Italy, Senegal, Sweden, Britain and Uruguay. The meeting will be convened on Friday.