New Delhi, Mar 14: The German parliament has elected Angela Merkel as Chancellor for the fourth time on Wednesday. Lawmakers voted 364-315 to re-elect Merkel. She has been unopposed leader since 2005. Merkel’s election has ended six months of political turmoil. Two months after Germany’s federal election last year, five weeks of exploratory talks collapsed, casting uncertainty over Chancellor Angela Merkel’s future in office.

The coalition led to political instability and German business leaders also expressed concern over the effect due to this.

As reported in media, in the secret ballot 364 of the Bundestag’s 709 members voted in favor of Merkel — nine more than the 50 percent required. The coalition of Merkel’s conservative Christian Democratic Union, its Bavaria-only sister party, the Christian Social Union and the center-left Social Democrats has 399 of the 709 seats in parliament.

Merkel was able to take office only after two-thirds of the Social Democrats’ members approved in a ballot the coalition deal taken last month. At least 35 coalition lawmakers was not in her support.

Merkel will first visit to German President Frank-Walter Steinmeier at his Berlin residence to be officially nominated before returning to the Bundestag to be sworn in as Chancellor later on Wednesday.

(With inputs from agencies)