Live Updates

Kathmandu, May 18: The counting of polls for Nepal local elections is underway. The Nepal Local Elections 2017, which were conduction for the first time in the last two decades, is witnessing a contest between the Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist-Leninist) or CPN-UML and Nepali Congress.

The local election of Nepal is also significant as it is happening for the first time after the nation became a federal democratic republic. Catch the live news updates on the Nepal local election results here. We will be updating live on the Nepal local election results 2017.

Counting of votes for the elections held in four metropolitan cities, one sub metropolis, 92 municipalities and 186 village councils started on Monday after an all-party meeting forged consensus. After the second day of counting, the Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist-Leninist) or CPN-UML managed to get a lead in the mayoral seat race in Kathmandu city. Counting of votes are underway for the Nepal local election results 2017 and CPN-UML candidate Bidhyasundar Shakya was ahead of his close rival Kishor Thapa. leading with 172 votes. Shakya was at the first position with 172 votes. Kishor Thapa was at second position with 120 votes. Nepali Congress candidate Hariprabha Joshi Khadgi was leading in the deputy mayor race in Kathmandu city.

The vote counting began in 11 local units of Kathmandu and 6 local units of Lalitpur district on Monday. The Nepal local election results 2017 will decide the fate of the 49,337 candidates.

The first phase of the local elections in Nepal took place peacefully at 281 local units out of 283 in province 3, 4 and 6. The first phase of local elections witnessed 73 per cent voter turnout. The second round of polls in provinces 1, 2, 5 and 7 will be held on June 14. The local elections were held to elect a chairperson of the village council, vice chairperson, municipality’s mayor, deputy mayor, ward chairperson, two ward members from open quota, a woman ward member and a woman ward member representing the Dalit community.