Yesterday evening Pahlaj Nihalani was ousted from the post of the Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC) Chief. He was replaced by noted lyricist and ad guru, Prasoon Joshi. Elated with the new responsibility bestowed upon him, he said that he will always attempt at keeping people’s point of view in mind while certifying films.

In an interview with a leading news agency, Joshi said, “I am happy that the film industry has expectations from me. I have respect for the industry. I will always try to take opinion of people, who have right and positive thinking because this is very new to me”.

He further added that although he has no idea about the functioning of the body (CBFC) and his role as its chief, he knows he will be able to handle it as he doesn’t shy away from responsibilities and is a sensible person. “I have always been a confident person and more than anything I think, we should do our work responsibly. I don’t believe in criticising anybody,” he said, adding that he will try to fulfil his responsibilities to the best of his abilities. (ALSO READ: Here’s Everything You Need To Know About Your New CBFC Chief Prasoon Joshi)

Apart from him, the other members who have been appointed as part of the reconstituted CBFC are Vidya Balan, Gautami Tadimalla, Narendra Kohli, Naresh Chandra Lal, Neil Herbert Nongkynrih, Vivek Agnihotri, Waman Kendre, T.S. Nagabharana, Ramesh Patange, Vani Tripati Tikoo, Jeevitha Rajasekhar and Mihir Bhuta.

Joshi, who is well known for his contribution in films like ‘Taare Zameen Par’, Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’ and ‘Rang De Basanti’ among others, is certain that all those appointed in the committee will make a positive difference. “I feel all good people who are going to join will make a difference. It has to be done together. I feel some sort of understanding has to be brought in. We need to look at it constructively.”

He has also successfully designed ad campaigns. He has been bestowed with Padma Shri and the National Award among other prestigious awards. Furthermore, he has penned the theme song for Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Swachh Bharat Abhiyan and other campaigns.