Getty Images

Australia batted first after winning the toss and openers Aaron finch and David Warner started off well by smashing some big hits. Both looked threatening before Darren Sammy brought Marlon Samuels into the attack and he clean bowled Finch (16) who was looking to play across.

Samuel Badree was removed from the attack after his first over went for 15 runs but in his come back over he picked the wicket of Warner (20). Shane Watson (2) did not last long as he was stumped off Sunil Narine, Australia lost their top three batsmen in power play.

Captain George bailey (12) was Samuels’s second victim and left Australia trailing at 77-4. Glenn Maxwell continued his aggressive stroke play and helped Australia gain some momentum, he scored blazing 45 off 22 balls including three 6s in his typical fashion, looking to keep on with the flow Maxwell handed a catch to Dwayne Bravo off Badree’s bowling.

Brad Hodge and James Faulkner then added 52 runs for 6th wicket, before Hodge (35) was cleaned up by Narine in his final over and finished with 2 for 19 in four overs. Faulkner (13) who missed first game due to injury looked rusty and managed only 13 runs.

Wicketkeeper batsman Brad Haddin (14*) played some lusty blows down the order and helped Australia to post 178/8 in 20 overs.

Spinners Badree, Narine and Samuels picked two wickets each. Bravo and Santokie were the other two bowlers who featured in wickets column with one wicket apiece.

PowerPlay: 41/3

Playing XI:

Australia: David Warner, Aaron Finch, Shane Watson, Glenn Maxwell, George Bailey(c), Brad Hodge, Brad Haddin(w), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Brad Hogg, Doug Bollinger

West Indies: Dwayne Smith, Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Bravo, Darren Sammy(c), Andre Russell, Denesh Ramdin(w), Sunil Narine, Samuel Badree, Krishmar Santokie