Getty Images
Getty Images

Australia featured almost in every cricket pundits list of favourites to lift the World T20 and rightly so as pre-tournament they played captivating cricket. With every passing game Australia slipped closer towards the elimination and have failed to register a single win so far. Same goes for hosts Bangladesh but they neither were in anyone’s list nor had played impressive cricket in build up to this mega event.

Australia would certainly not have wanted to end their World T20 stint on such a low. Mitchell Johnson’s presence was surely missed and no other bowler looked to fill in his shoes. Brad Hogg was hapless against Pakistan and young James Muirhead has not settled down. Shane Watson and David Warner looked leaden throughout. A better show was expected from Australia but they have been disappointing.

For Bangladesh it is last shot at glory and win against Australia will give their fans a new hope, a hope which in past they have been sprawling with performances out of blue. Batting, bowling and fielding in short Bangladesh have played miserable cricket. A win will put smile back on the faces of fervent Bangladeshi fans.

Australia and Bangladesh have met twice in this format and Australia overpowered tigers on both the occasions.

Impact Players: Glenn Maxwell and Anamul Haque for their respective teams can produce gem of an innings with no pressure at all these young players won’t mind giving it the full monty.

Weak Link: In a tournament where bowlers have managed to win matches, Both Australia and Bangladesh have been let down by their bowling unit.

Squads (from)

Australia: George Bailey (capt), Aaron Finch (vice-capt), Daniel Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Faulkner, Shane Watson, David Warner, Glenn Maxwell, James Muirhead, Mitchell Starc, Brad Haddin (wk), Cameron White, Doug Bollinger, Brad Hodge, Brad Hogg.

Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (capt, wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Mominul Haque, Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Farhad Reza, Mashrafe Mortaza, Abdur Razzak, Rubel Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Sohag Gazi, Shamsur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain.