New Delhi, March 28: Following the ball tampering scandal that took place during the third Test against South Africa,  Cricket Australia on Wednesday has banned former captain Steve Smith and ex vice-captain David Warner for a period of 12 months.

While Cameron Bancroft, the third member of the trio who have been found by Cricket Australia’s internal investigation to have conspired to alter the condition of the ball at Newlands, has also been banned for nine months.

Earlier, CA boss James Sutherland had ordered to sent back the trio home and banned them from playing the final Test against South Africa.

The CA chief executive revealed the trio of Smith, Warner and Bancroft were the only members of Australia’s touring party – players or support staff – who had any knowledge of the plan to deliberately alter the condition of the ball.

Smith, Warner and Bancroft were found to have breached article 2.3.5 of the CA Code of Conduct, which relates to conduct at any time that is contrary to the spirit of the game, unbecoming of a representative, harmful to the interests of the game, or bringing the game into disrepute.

The sandpaper gate scandal broke after Bancroft was caught on camera using tape to rough up the ball in the third Test in Cape Town. Darren Lehmann remains as Australia’s coach, despite media reports he was set to resign over the ball-tampering incident, with wicket-keeper Tim Paine taking over as captain.

Matthew Renshaw, Glenn Maxwell and Joe Burns have been named as replacements for Smith, Warner and Bancroft.