New Delhi: Tonight is the night of one of the biggest award in the world of football, Ballon d’Or, which is given to the best player in the world. The award ceremony is all set to take place in Paris on December 7, Thursday. The 62nd edition of Ballon d’Or will take place at 11:45 pm IST and French news outlet L’Equipe’s TV channel will be screening all the coverage of the event. It will also be shown online on the France Football website. David Ginola, the former Tottenham and Newcastle winger, will present the awards ceremony.

Ballon d’Or is the highest of honours a football player can get and Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have maintained their status as the best two players in the world for almost a decade by winning the awards five times and four times respectively. Last time a player other than these two won was in 2007, when Kaka topped Ronaldo and Messi – who finished second and third respectively.

Check the post 2007 Ballon d’Or winners list here:

Ballon d’Or – the Messi and Ronaldo years
2008Cristiano RonaldoLionel MessiFernando Torres
2009Lionel MessiCristiano RonaldoXavi
2010Lionel MessiAndres IniestaXavi
2011Lionel MessiCristiano RonaldoXavi
2012Lionel MessiCristiano RonaldoAndres Iniesta
2013Cristiano RonaldoLionel MessiFranck Ribery
2014Cristiano RonaldoLionel MessiManuel Neuer
2015Lionel MessiCristiano RonaldoNeymar
2016Cristiano RonaldoLionel MessiAntoine Griezmann

Barcelona’s star striker Messi currently has the upper hand in the rivalry with five victories to Ronaldo’s four, but it is expected that the Real Madrid forward will equal the Argentine’s haul as he is favourite to win Ballon d’Or tonight. However, it is just not these two who are competing for the prestigious award as total 30 players have been shortlisted for the event.

Here are all the players that have been shortlisted for the 2017 Ballon d’Or:

Neymar – Paris Saint-Germain

N’Golo Kante – Chelsea

Luka Modric – Real Madrid

Paulo Dybala – Juventus

Marcelo – Real Madrid

Edin Dzeko – Roma

Harry Kane – Tottenham

David De Gea – Manchester United

Robert Lewandowski – Bayern Munich

Kevin De Bruyne – Manchester City

Karim Benzema – Real Madrid

Pierre-Emerick Aubemyang – Borussia Dortmund

Edinson Cavani – Paris Saint-Germain

Philippe Coutinho – Liverpool

Luis Suarez – Barcelona

Jan Oblak – Atletico Madrid

Sergio Ramos – Real Madrid

Dries Mertens – Napoli

Radamel Falcao – Monaco

Sadio Mane – Liverpool

Gianluigi Buffon – Juventus

Antoine Griezmann – Atletico Madrid

Toni Kroos – Real Madrid

Cristiano Ronaldo – Real Madrid

Eden Hazard – Chelsea

Leonardo Bonucci – AC Milan

Isco – Real Madrid

Lionel Messi – Barcelona

Mats Hummels – Bayern Munich

Kylian Mbappe – Paris Saint-Germain

Earlier, FIFA used to decide the Ballon d’Or winner but in 2016 football governing body parted ways with the French organisers of the prestigious football awards. Now the Ballon d’Or is held by French Football magazine and they ask 173 journalists from all over the world to vote.