New Delhi, March 28: Cricket Australia on Wednesday banned the trio Steve Smith, David Warner and Cameron Bancroft following the ball-tampering scandal that took place during the third Test against South Africa.

Former Captain Smith and vice-captain Warner were handed one year ban each while Bancroft, who was caught tampering the ball was given a nine months suspension.

Following the ban imposed by Cricket Australia, the BCCI took identical steps and restricted Smith and Warner who were earlier removed as captains from their respective franchises to participate in the Indian Premier League 2018.

However, the trio would be able to take part in professional T20 leagues during the period of their ban which includes the 2019 Pakistan Super League, unless the respective boards in-charge of the lucrative tournaments bars them from participating, similar alike the BCCI did for the IPL.

Meanwhile, the Caribbean Premier League which is slated to get underway from August 8, 2018 might not accommodate any of the three Australian cricketers as the final squad for the tournament, this year has already been decided.

The situation stands identical with the T20 Global League which will be managed by Cricket South Africa and scheduled to get underway from November, 2018.