Defending champions Mumbai Indians probably got off to the worst possible start at IPL 2014 losing their first two matches against Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore on a trot. They have yet to register their first win in the cash rich tournament’s seventh edition. And on top of the dismal form of Mumbai Indians, they next face Chennai Super Kings in match number 13 at Dubai International Stadium.

Chennai Super Kings have also got off to an unpleasant start with their IPL 2014 campaign. They lost their opening match against Kings XI Punjab after posting a monstrous total. The battle between the two sides has always been an exciting affair. On the fifteen occasions in the six editions of IPL, there has been some high octane action with Mumbai Indians leading 9-6 against the yellow jerseys.

Compared to Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings have always been perceived as a more balanced side. The man in focus is going to be Australian player Mike Hussey, who was a part of Chennai Super Kings in the earlier seasons, is donning blue jersey and is opening batsman for Mumbai Indians. He has so far not shown the flair he is known for but MI would expect him to fire when it matters the most – and what better than playing against your former franchise.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Rohit Sharma both have been winning leaders and know the importance of going up ahead in the tournament in the earlier stages of the match. The last time these two faced each other in IPL was in last year’s finals where MI had upper hand beating Dhoni’s men by 23 runs to lift 2013 trophy.


Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Suresh Raina, Francois du Plessis, Dwayne Smith, Brendon McCullum, Ashish Nehra, Mohit Sharma, Ishwar Pandey, Ben Hilfenhaus, John Hastings, Samuel Badree, Matt Henry, Mithun Manhas, Vijay Shankar, Ronit More, Baba Aparajith, Pawan Negi.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (c), Aaditya Tare (wk), Michael Hussey, Sushant Marathe, Ambati Rayudu, Kieron Pollard, Corey Anderson, Ben Dunk, Josh Hazlewood, Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Shreyas Gopal, Jalaj Saxena, CM Gautam (wk), Krishmar Santokie, Marchant de Lange, Jasprit Bumrah, Apoorv Wankhede, Pawan Suyal.

Check the IPL 2014 Points Table, Match Results and Team Standings here

For the complete IPL 2014 Schedule, Match Fixtures and Complete Time Table of IPL 7 click here.