Once semi-finalists, twice winners and thrice runners-up, is what make Chennai Super Kings the most successful team in IPL. Since inaugural edition Indian captain MS Dhoni has led CSK and piloted his team to two back to back titles in 2010 and 2011 season.

From their previous squad CSK retained five players MS Dhoni, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Suresh Raina and one overseas player Dwayne Bravo. All of them being an apparent choice

South African T20 captain Faf du Plessis was the most expensive player for them in this year’s auction, the Proteas captain took home Rs 4,75,00,000. Other notable inclusions in CSK squad were Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Smith and Samuel Badree. CSK got their hands on Badree for Rs 30 lakhs making him the ‘’best buy’’ for them.

Among Indian players CSK bought bowler Ashish Nehra, Mohit Sharma and Ishwar Pandey, all of them are decent T20 bowlers. Baba Aparajith who has represented India at U19 makes it to the CSK squad as well.

Batting: CSK has a strong looking batting line up. Faf du Plessis, Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Smith come in as specialist overseas batsmen, with only four overseas players allowed in playing xi looks like MS Dhoni will have a hard time picking best among the best. Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni and Baba Aparajith stack up as Indian players and provide depth to batting.

Bowling: With wickets in UAE expected to be spin friendly Samuel Badree, Ravichandran Ashwin can be lethal with their spinning skills. Mohit Sharma, Ashish Nehra, Ben Hilfenhaus bring in the best of seam bowling.

All-rounders: CSK has no dearth of all-rounders and in shorter version of the game they play an indispensable role. Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Mithun Manhas, John Hastings, and Vijay Shankar can be equally good in both the departments. Suresh Raina, Ravichandran Ashwin and Dwayne Smith complement as second string all-rounders.

Support Staff: Former Kiwi captain Stephan Fleming is team’s head coach, he will be assisted by former Australian pacer Andy Bichel as bowling coach and Stephan Rixon as fielding coach.


Indian Players: MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohit Sharma, Baba Aparajith, Ashish Nehra, Mithun Manhas, Ishwar Pandey, Pawan Negi, Vijay Shankar, Ronit More.

Foreign Players: Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Bravo, Matt Henry, John Hastings, FAF du Plessis, Dwayne Smith, Samuel Badree, Ben Hilfenhaus.