McCullum and Smith smash KXIP as CSK finish on 205 Chennai Super Kings won the toss and elected to bat first as MS Dhoni believed runs on board will put Kings XI Punjab under pressure. Brendon McCullum and Dwayne smith got CSK off to a flyer and bashed KXIP bowling. The duo added 123 runs for the first wicket.

McCullum completed his half-century off just 30 balls. Smith on the other end was playing big shots at regular intervals. George Bailey dropped McCullum off Parvinder Awana at mid-on when the swashbuckling Kiwi was on 22 runs. KXIP tried all sort of tricks to stop the onslaught but CSK openers were making merry of bowlers.

KXIP picked only one specialist spinner in form of  debutant Akshar Patel in their playing XI and that proved to be a bizarre selection as fast bowlers were being smashed all over the park. KXIP got the breakthrough when McCullum tried to clear mid-wicket boundary off Patel’s bowling, but found Glenn Maxwell, who took a tumbling catch. McCullum’s 67 run knock came off 45 balls with the help of four 4s and five 6s.

George Bailey turned to Maxwell as his second spinning option but that ploy did not worked as he went for 23 runs in two overs. Suresh Raina who was playing his 100th IPL match (Most Matches) got off the mark with a boundary and added 38 runs with Smith for the 2nd wicket. Dwayne Smith then looking to heave Balaji’s low full toss was caught at cover by Bailey, he scored 66 off 43 balls, hitting six 4s and three 6s. Ms Dhoni then joined Raina (24) in the middle.

Dhoni unleashed his power at the end and scored 26 off 11 balls to see CSK post a mammoth score of 205-4 in 20 overs. Akshar Patel bagged one wicket and gave away 34 runs in his quota of
four overs. Speedster Mitchell Johnson did not find his feet and went for 47 runs in his four overs without picking a wicket. Parvinder
Awana and L. Balaji bagged one wicket each.
PowerPlay: 70-0
Playing XI:
CSK: Dwayne Smith, Brendon McCullum, Suresh Raina, FAF du Plessis, MS
Dhoni (c), Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohit
Sharma, Pawan Negi, Ashish Nehra.
KXIP: Virender Sehwag, Cheteshwar Pujara, George Bailey(c), Glenn
Maxwell, David Miller, Wriddhiman Saha, Akshar Patel, Mitchell
Johnson, Rishi Dhawan, Parvinder Awana, L Balaji.