Hello and welcome to our coverage from another match from the Indian Super League. FC Goa will take on Chennaiyin FC at their home ground, Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Fatorda on Thursday. Both teams are out of contention for the semi-finals, so they will be playing for pride today.

The match begins at 7 pm IST and can be seen on the Star Sports network if you are a television viewer. It can also be seen on Hotstar if you are looking at the online option. For the link to the online streaming, click here. With 11 points from 13 games, FC Goa will be finishing last this season irrespective of whether or not they win against the Super Machans. Chennaiyin, with 15 points from 13 games, can still hope for a respectful fifth-placed finish.

Goa were thrashed 1-5 by Delhi Dynamos in their last match and coach Zico will want to finish with a positive result. “Delhi is a very good team, very compact; they know how to play their game. In the first half, we held them but in the second they found their way. The other thing is that when there is a motivation factor you play in a certain way, like if the team is in the hunt for semis… We had nothing like that going for us so that also played a role,” Zico told reporters at the customary pre-match media conference.

Goa will begin with a point to prove in front of their home fans one last time as payback for last season’s dramatic finale which went to the wire and was filled with incidents that marred Goa’s preparations for this season as well. Chennaiyin are also out of the league but they will look to finish as high as possible with a victory against us, Zico added. Chennaiyin FC were in the race for a place in semi-finals until they conceded a goal in the last minute as NorthEast United FC snatched a 3-3 draw. That result pushed Chennaiyin FC out of the race and coach Marco Materazzi was left to rue goals they continued at the end.

Ultimately, today’s game is nothing more than a battle of pride and it’ll be an emotional tie for both teams, make no mistake about that. Materazzi and Zico will set their teams up to win at whatever cost.


FC Goa: Laxmikanth Kattimani, Subhasish Roy Chowdhury, Sukhdev Patil, Lucio, Debabrata Roy, Denzil Franco, Fulganco Cardozo, Gregory Arnolin, Keenan Almeida, Raju Gaikwad, Sanjay Balmuchu, Joffre, Mandar Rao Dessai, Pratesh Shirodkar, Richarlyson, Romeo Fernandes, Trindade Goncalves, Julio Cesar, Rafael Coelho, Reinaldo, Robin Singh, Luciano Sobrosa, Rafael Dumas

Chennaiyin FC: Karanjit Singh, Pawan Kumar, Duwayne Kerr, Bernard Mendy, Mehrajuddin Wadoo, Eli Sabia, Eder Monterio, Jerry Lalrinzuala, Abhishek Das, John Arne Riise, Baljit Sahni, Hans Mulder, Manuele Blasi, Thoi Singh, Raphael Augusto, Harmanjot Singh Khabra, Dudu Omagbemi, Davide Succi, Maurizio Peluso, Bedashwor Singh, Uttam Rai, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Zakeer Mundampara, Jayesh Rane, Daniel Lalhlimpuia