FIFPro has released its list of nominees for the 2016 World 11, with 31 of the 55 players named having played for Barcelona, Bayern Munich or Real Madrid over the past year. The FIFA FIFPro World11 is decided by the players, for the players. It involves votes from more than 25,000 professional footballers from over 75 different countries. They each select one goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders and three forwards.

FIFPro and its national affiliates are responsible for gathering votes from professional footballers worldwide. Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo predictably headlined the 55-man selection for the FIFA FIFPro World11, announced on Thursday.

Portugal captain Ronaldo, who lead his country to victory at Euro 2016, and Italy counterpart Gianluigi Buffon are the only men to have been included in all 12 editions of the award, which is based upon votes from 25,000 professional players across 75 countries while the Man United captain, Wayne Rooney was one of only three players to appear on every World11 shortlist but he’s not anymore as he didn’t even make the 55-man shortlist.

Meanwhile, France forward Griezmann, who won both the Golden Ball and the Golden Boot at Euro 2016, has made the cut for the first time in his career. The Atletico Madrid ace is joined by 10 other newcomers: N’Golo Kante, Hector Bellerin, Leonardo Bonucci, Serge Aurier, Kevin De Bruyne, Dimitri Payet, Paulo Dybala and Jamie Vardy.

The final 11 will be announced in Zurich on January 9.


Goalkeepers (5): Claudio Bravo (Chile/FC Barcelona/Manchester City), Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/Juventus), David de Gea (Spain/Manchester United), Keylor Navas (Costa Rica/Real Madrid) and Manuel Neuer (Germany/FC Bayern Munich).

Defenders (20): David Alaba (Austria/FC Bayern Munich), Jordi Alba (Spain/FC Barcelona), Serge Aurier (Cote d’Ivoire/Paris Saint-Germain), Héctor Bellerìn (Spain/Arsenal), Jerome Boateng (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Leonardo Bonucci (Italy/Juventus), Daniel Carvajal (Spain/Real Madrid), Giorgio Chiellini (Italy/Juventus), Dani Alves (Brazil/FC Barcelona/Juventus), David Luiz (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain/Chelsea), Diego Godin (Uruguay/Atletico Madrid), Mats Hummels (Germany/Borussia Dortmund/FC Bayern Munich), Philipp Lahm (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Marcelo (Brazil/Real Madrid), Javier Mascherano (Argentina/FC Barcelona), Pepe (Portugal/Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Spain/FC Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Spain/Real Madrid), Thiago Silva (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain) and Raphael Varane (France/Real Madrid).

Midfielders (15): Xabi Alonso (Spain/FC Bayern Munich), Sergio Busquets (Spain/FC Barcelona), Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/Manchester City), Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea), Andres Iniesta (Spain/FC Barcelona), N’Golo Kante (France/Leicester City/Chelsea) Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid), Luka Modric (Croatia/Real Madrid), Mesut Özil (Germany/Arsenal), Dimitri Payet (France/West Ham United), Paul Pogba (France/Juventus/Manchester United), Ivan Rakitic (Croatia/FC Barcelona), David Silva (Spain/Manchester City), Marco Verratti (Italy/Paris Saint-Germain) and Arturo Vidal (Chile/FC Bayern Munich).

Strikers (15): Sergio Aguero (Argentina/Manchester City), Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid), Paulo Dybala (Argentina/Juventus), Antoine Griezmann (France/Atletico Madrid), Gonzalo Higuain (Argentina/Napoli/Juventus), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/Paris Saint-Germain/Manchester United), Robert Lewandowski (Poland/FC Bayern Munich), Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona), Thomas Muller (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Neymar (Brazil/FC Barcelona), Alexis Sanchez (Chile/Arsenal), Luis Suarez (Uruguay/FC Barcelona) and Jamie Vardy (England/Leicester City).