India achieve a nine-wicket win over Bangladesh in the Super Sixes match of the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier at the Nondescripts Cricket Club Ground in Colombo on February 18 and by achieving this huge margin of victory, India were assured of qualification to ICC Women’s World Cup.

Opener Mona Meshram and skipper Mithali Raj struck scorching half-centuries while Mansi Joshi’s bagged three wickets to lead India to victory. Also Read: Rampant India look to tame in-form Australia in high-octane Test series

Earlier, Mithali won the toss and elected to field. Indian bowlers restricted Bangladesh to a lowly total of 155-8, as Joshi struck early to dismiss opener Sharmin Sultana (7) and Sanjida Islam (2) with only 14 runs on the board. However, we witnessed some brilliant efforts by Sharmin Akhter (unbeaten at 35) and Rumana Ahmed (unbeaten at 50), to revive Bangladesh’s innings.

However, the rest of the batting order failed to make useful contributions as Bangladesh could gather only 155 runs in 50 overs.  Joshi, the pick of the bowlers, finished with figures of 3 for 25 from 10 overs, while Shikha Pandey and Rajeshwari Gayakwad also chipped in with a wicket each.

Chasing a target of 156 runs to win, India lost opener Deepti Sharm earl. However, it was the only blow Indian eves had to take as Mithali and Meshram lead India to the victory. Also Read: IPL 2017 Auction Date and Time: Here is everything you need to know ahead of IPL 10 auction

Meshram smashed 12 boundaries in her unbeaten 78-run knock besides sharing a crucial 136-run stand for the second wicket with skipper Mithali to help India come out victorious in just 99 balls to spare. With this win, India women’s team have now qualified for the main event.

India, who have won all their six qualifying games so far, will now take on their arch-rivals Pakistan in their Super-6 clash at P.Sara Oval on Sunday.

Brief Scores: Bangladesh Women 155/8 in 20 overs (Fargana Hoque 50, Sharmin Akhter 35; Mansi Joshi 3-25, Devika Vaidya 2-17) lost to India Women 158/1 in 33.3 overs (Mona Meshram 78*, Mithali Raj 73*; Khadija Tul Kubra 1-37) by 9 wickets