India vs Bangladesh 3rd ODI

After a spirited performance in second ODI buoyant India will now look for a whitewash in the third and final match of the three-match series. With series already in the pocket, India would still not want to take the game lightly as 3-0 on any given day is better than 2-1 and that too when your side has been labelled ‘’second-string’’.

Mushfiqur Rahim has been a stressed man as his team has not performed well in the recent past. There are questions evolving from every corner on Bangladesh’s stature in international cricket, which unfortunately is weighing down day by day. With India resting its first choice players it provided Bangladesh an opening to excel, but their dismal show continued as India comprehensively defeated them in both the ODI’s so far.

On the other hand tour to Bangladesh was an opportunity for most of the Indian squad members to be in reckoning for the selection with an out-and-out performance. Robin Uthappa, Ajinkya Rahane to name a few and add Stuart Binny as well perhaps made sure they are in the Team India bus next time a squad is announced. Binny has almost made a strong case to see himself in the playing XI in the first test against England starting next month after his record breaking performance. Binny who surpassed Anil Kumble’s best bowling figures by Indian bowler in ODI’s the other day will look to repeat his heroics as conditions will probably remain the same. India may go in for couple of changes and bring in pacer Vinay Kumar, Manoj Tiwary and Kedhar Jadhav so that everyone on tour gets something.

Debutant Taskin Ahmed’s performance amidst all the woes has surely brought some happiness in Bangladesh camp and on his second outing his team will expect the tall fast bowler to emulate his effort once again. Senior batsman Tamim Iqbal let down his team again and it will be interesting to see if management persists with him or not, if he fails to make another opportunity count it could result in him being dropped for Bangladesh’s next assignment against West Indies in August.

While Suresh Raina and co. will look to seal the series with a win, Bangladesh will go out once again with a familiar ‘’hope’’ for rare success.


India: Suresh Raina (captain), Robin Uthappa, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ambati Rayudu, Manoj Tiwary, Kedar Jadhav, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Parvez Rasool, Akshar Patel, Vinay Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Stuart Binny, Mohit Sharma and Amit Mishra.

Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (captain/wicketkeeper), Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Shamsur Rahman, Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Mahmudullah, Mithun Ali, Abdur Razzak, Mashrafe Mortaza, Sohag Gazi, Ziaur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain, Taskin Ahmed.