Rajasthan Royals scored 148-8 in 20 overs after middle order fell apart despite a good start. RR not only made some changes to the team but surprised one and all when Shane Watson and Ankit Sharma came out to bat instead of regular openers.

The makeshift opening pair scored at a rate of 5 runs per over for first five overs and then in last over of power play Ankit Sharma drubbed Ravi Ashwin for 17 runs hitting the off spinner for  two 4s and a six. Two overs later Ankit fell to Ashwin for a well-made 30 off 27 balls and RR score read 60-1 in 8th over. Ajinkya Rahane then joined his captain and could not contribute much at number three as he was run out for 4.

Watson kept playing shots at the other end and brought up his 13th IPL fifty with a six. On next ball Mohit Sharma cleaned him up with a fuller delivery to leave RR 99-3 in 13th over. Half-centurion from last match Karun Nair (8) then dragged on one onto his stumps to
further leave RR in trouble at 114-4 at the end of 15 overs. CSK bowlers bowled good lines and were hard to get away. In 18th over
Mohit Sharma came back to bowl his third over and he struck, dismissing Steve Smith (9).

RR kept losing wickets towards the end with Jadeja picking two in his last over. He first cleaned James Faulkner (1) and then Stuart Binny (22). Mohit Sharma picked a wicket and gave away eight runs in last over to limit RR to 148-8 Ravindra Jadeja (2-17) bowled superbly in his four overs. Ravi Ashwin (1-39) and Samuel Badree (1-19) picked one wicket each. Mohit Sharma (3-31) was once again amongst the wickets and now holds the Purple cap.

Power Play: 42-0

Playing XI
CSK: Dwayne Smith, Brendon McCullum, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni(w/c), Faf du Plessis, Vijay Shankar, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohit Sharma, Ishwar Pandey, Samuel Badree
RR: Ajinkya Rahane, Karun Nair, Shane Watson(c), Dishant Yagnik(w), Stuart Binny, Steven Smith, Kevon Cooper, James Faulkner, Pravin Tambe, Rajat Bhatia, Ankit Sharma