Chennai Super Kings maintained upper hand throughout their chase and zipped past the target of 179 set by Delhi Daredevils with eight wickets in hand despite a tight finish.

Highlight of CSK’s chase was the opening stand of 82 runs between Dwayne Smith and Brendon McCullum. Both openers made sure they lay the platform for other batters to finish things off. Smith and McCullum mixed caution with aggression and did not got carried away.

Even with sprinkle of rain around CSK batsmen kept their cool and managed to chase down a formidable target. First of the two wickets to fell for CSK was McCullum (32) when he looked to slog Laxmi Shukla but was caught at deep mid-wicket. Smith was second wicket to fell as he tried to go for the maximum but was caught at boundary ropes. He scored 79 off 51 balls hitting four 4s and eight 6s.

Suresh Raina stayed till the end and played his part scoring unbeaten 27 ball 47 runs. Captain MS Dhoni (12*)hit the winning runs in last over and took CSK home.

Laxmi Shukla (1-31) and Wayne Parnell (1-25) were the only bowlers to pick wicket. Mohammad Shami gave away 17 runs in the crucial 18th over and that saw momentum shift CSK’s way, he finished with figures of 0-42 in his four overs.

Delhi Daredevils was put to bat first earlier and courtesy couple of good partnerships scored 178-5. After two early wickets first Murali Vijay and Dinesh Karthik formed a 71 run partnership and then towards the death JP Duminy and Kedar Jadhav’s brisk 58 run standcame to DD’s rescue.

Ravindra Jadeja and Ravi Ashwin did well to contain DD batsmen in their respective four overs besides picking one wicket each.

Chennai Super Kings with this further cement their place at top of points table while Delhi Daredevils languish at seventh spot.

Man of the Match: Dwayne Smith

BRIEF SCORES: CSK 181-2(D. Smith 79, W. Parnell 1-25)beatDD 178-5 (D. Karthik51, R. Ashwin1-23) by 8 wickets.

IPL 2014 Schedule: All Match Fixtures and Complete Time Table of IPL 7

IPL 2014 Points Table, Match Results and Team Standings