Delhi Daredevils could not capitalise and lost too many wickets towards the end and ended up scoring 164-7 in 20 overs after put to
bat first by Kings XI Punjab.

Murali Vijay continued to be unimpressive as he was the first wicket to fell. Vijay (5) went to play a pull shot too early and ball managed to flew of his blade to fine leg where Beuran Hendricks took a superb catch. In next over Hendricks was taken to cleaners by Kevin Pietersen as he went for 18 runs. Dinesh Karthik too joined from the other end and the duo notched up a speedy 50-run stand off 27 balls.

After the quick-fire stand spinners Akshar Patel and Shivam Sharma managed to pull things back and gave away no boundaries. KP was soon dismissed when Patel went through his stance to disturb the wood-work behind him leaving DD at 84-2 inside 11 overs. inside 11 overs.

KP missed his half-century by one run and 71-run stand between the two was broken. Karthik kept scoring fluently and brought up his ninth IPL fifty as JP Duminy at other end struggled to score runs. Duminy’s (17) struggle ended when he was looking to clear mid-wicket boundary but was caught near the fence by Glenn Maxwell off Hendricks. In next over Sandeep Sharma pegged back DD with two quick wickets first he removed Kedhar Jadhav for a first ball duck and then Manish Agarwal (6).

All hopes lied on well-set Karthik to lead the final onslaught but in 19th over top edge from his bat landed into the hands of Rishi Dhawan at square leg. Karthik scored 69 off 44 balls. Two balls later in the very over Maxwell took a stunner to dismiss Wayne Parnell (2) and DD lost their way going into the last over. Manoj Tiwary could not find a boundary in last over as Patel gave away only five runs and DD were restricted to 164.  Sandeep and Hendricks picked three wickets each while Patel nabbed one victim.

Power Play: 55-1
Playing XI
DD: Kevin Pietersen, Murali Vijay, Mayank Agarwal, Dinesh Karthik, Jean-Paul Duminy, Manoj Tiwary, Kedar Jadhav, Wayne Parnell, Imran Tahir, Mohammed Shami, Jaydev Unadkat

KXIP: Manan Vohra, Virender Sehwag, Wriddhiman Saha, Glenn Maxwell, David Miller, George Bailey, Beuran Hendricks, Rishi Dhawan, Akshar Patel, Shivam Sharma, Sandeep Sharma

IPL 2014 Schedule: All Match Fixtures and Complete Time Table of IPL 7

IPL 2014 Points Table, Match Results and Team Standings