Wriddhiman Saha played a scintillating knock to finish unbeaten on 115 as Kings XI Punjab pile up 141 runs in last 10 overs to end up on 199-4. Centurion from last game Virender Sehwag looked in good touch as he hit a boundary early on, but after that he started to find fielders instead of gaps. In 4th over he looked to play across the line but miscued it to Gautam Gambhir at mid-off. Sehwag departed for 7 and KXIP score read 23-1.

KXIP surprised one and all when Captain George Bailey walked in at number three. The ploy did not work as Bailey (1) was cleaned up off Sunil Narine’s first ball. With his wicket KXIP floundered in power play and scored only 32 runs. The wicket offered spin early on and Gambhir brought Shakib Al Hassan and Piyush Chawla into the attack.

Manan Vohra and Wriddhiman Saha then joined hands for the rescue act. The two played carefully early on and after spending some time started taking attack to KKR bowlers. Saha showed no mercy towards bowlers and thrashed them all over. Vohra kept one end intact and soon launched an attack.

Saha smashed Narine for three consecutive 4s to bring up his half-century off just 29 balls. Vohra too notched up his fifty and took complete charge of the innings. Chawla then had Vohra (67) caught and bowled to provide KKR much needed breakthrough in 18th over. The two put on 129 for the 3rd wicket to help KXIP go past 150-run mark.

In same over Glenn Maxwell while playing a reverse sweep handed Morne Morkel a catch at short third man to depart for first ball duck. There was no stopping Saha as he continued his onslaught and brought up his hundred off just 50 balls to take to KXIP 199-4 which at one stage looked impossible. He smashed 10 4s and eight 6s to finish unbeaten on 115.

Power Play: 32-2

Playing XI
KKR: Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, Shakib Al Hasan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Suryakumar Yadav, Piyush Chawla, Morne Morkel, Sunil Narine, Umesh Yadav

KXIP: Manan Vohra, Virender Sehwag, Glenn Maxwell, David Miller, Wriddhiman Saha, George Bailey, Akshar Patel, Mitchell Johnson,
Parvinder Awana, L. Balaji, Karanveer Singh