Kings XI Punjab batting first looked like will finish big but superb death bowling by Kolkata Knight Riders  restricted them to 149-8 in 20 overs.
After Virender Sehwag clobbered Jacques Kallis for 17 runs in first over KXIP lost its opener Mandeep Singh for a three ball duck in the second over. At fall of early wicket Wriddhiman Saha was promoted to number three.

Sehwag looked in his very best touch and kept attacking KKR bowlers. Saha played aggressively before Morne Morkel cleaned him up for 15 runs. Sehwag seemed to have enjoying his luck as he survived couple close chances but that did not stop him. He brought up his first half-century in 17 innings in IPL. Maxwell (14) on the other hand looking to go for big shot was caught at backward square leg by Morkel
off   Piyush Chawla and KXIP were 87-3 in 11 overs.

Sehwag after notching his first half-century this season kept playing big shots. David Miller joined him and looked the duo will finish it off for KXIP but Sehwag while coming down the track dragged ball onto his stumps and thus was out for 72 off 50 balls. He hit 11 4s and a six in his knock.

Soon after Sehwag’s dismissal KXIP lost the momentum and KKR bowlers did good job to curtail them. Umesh Yadav knocked Miller’s (13) middle stump out of the ground and KXIP were reduced to 120-5 in 16 overs.  Towards the end Chawla and Narine kept KXIP batsmen in check and restricted them to 149-8. At one stage it looked like KXIP will cross 200 run mark once again. Bailey couldn’t finish things on high as he managed only 12 runs of 11 balls. Mitchell Johnson hit couple of big shots in last over to push score up. Chawla finished with figures of 3-19 while Morkel bagged two wickets for 20 runs. Yadav and Narine picked one wicket each.

Power Play: 49-2

Playing XI:

KKR: Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, Manish Pandey, Jacques Kallis, Yusuf Pathan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ryan ten Doeschate, Morne Morkel, Piyush Chawla, Sunil Narine, Umesh Yadav.
KXIP: Virender Sehwag, Mandeep Singh, Glenn Maxwell, David Miller, George Bailey, Wriddhiman Saha, Akshar Patel, Mitchell Johnson, Rishi Dhawan, Parvinder Awana, Sandeep Sharma.

IPL 2014 Schedule: All Match Fixtures and Complete Time Table of IPL 7

IPL 2014 Points Table, Match Results and Team Standings