Kolkata Knight Riders courtesy valiant bowling effort defeated Kings XI Punjab by 28 runs and storm into the final of IPL 2014.

Chasing 161 KXIP lost Virender Sehwag in 2nd over of the innings when he was caught at point by Shakib Al Hassan off Umesh Yadav.Manan Vohraand Wriddhiman Saha then put on a 40-run stand for the 2nd wicket to lead KXIP’s fight back.

With rain looming around Vohra was looking to u the ante and played some superb shots, but Morne Morkel then dismissed him to leave KXIP 45-2. Vohra scored 26 off 19 balls hitting three 6s.

Two overs later Umesh Yadav struck for KKR trapping big fish Glenn Maxwell (6) in front of the wicket and KXIP chase suffered a huge setback. Saha kept playing big shots to keep up with par score as rain was around. Gautam Gambhir brought Morkel back into the wicket and he rewarded his captain with a wicket of Saha (35) and KXIP were left stuttering at 80-4 in 12 overs.

David Miller was lucky to survive a lbw scare when umpire turned down an appeal from leg spinner Piyush Chawla, Miller (8) who was struggling to come to terms did not made most of the opportunity and fell to Chawla.

There was no big partnership toward the end and KXIP kept loosing wickets. George Bailey came out to bat at number seven and could not finish things off for KXIP. Akshar Patel’s (2)run-out did not help their cause and KXIP were 87-6. Bailey and Rishi Dhawan showed some resilience with a 30-run stand for 7th wicket but Shakib had Dhawan (14) stumped to deliver one more below to ailing KXIP.

Mitchell Johnson started off in promising fashion when he hit Shakib for six over cow corner and looked like match will go down to the wire with Bailey too smashing him for a six.

KXIP needed 35 from 12balls and Sunil Narine was handed the ball. Johnson could not pick Narine and was beaten, Narine bowled a superb over and gave away only four runs leaving 30for Yadav to defend in the last over.On first ball of 20th over Bailey (26) holed out to long-on and thus it was curtains for KXIP. Yadav kept blowing tight and gave just one run in last over.

Umesh Yadav was stand out performer for his figures of 3-13 in four overs. Morne Morkel picked two wickets while Shakib Al Hasan and Piyush Chawla scalped one wicket each.

Brief Scores: KXIP 135-8(W. Saha 35, U. Yadav 3-13)lostto KKR 163-8(R. Uthappa 42, K. Singh 3-40) by 28 runs.