Batting first Kings XI Punjab despite losing wickets at regular intervals manged to put 156 on board in 20 overs. Virender Sehwag started off in a blazing fashion hitting Praveen Kumar for a four and a six on first two balls. In next over Manan Vohra smashed Krishmar Santokie for first ball four and Sehwag later in that over hit him for a six. In two overs KXIP raced to 23-0.

In third over a disaster run-out took place when Sehwag tucked ball towards the non-striker and set off for a single, but ball hit Vohra
on pads and went towards the bowler who then shattered the stumps and thus Sehwag (17) was run out against the run of play.  Shaun Marsh playing his first game this season joined young Vohra and the two took KXIP out of the initial jolt. Even though the runs did not come easy but the duo kept playing their shots and went past fifty run stand for the 2nd wicket. Krishmar Santokie then was back into the attack and he removed Marsh (30) leaving KXIP 87-2 in 9.2 overs.

Shreyas Gopal the young leg spinner then took two wickets in one over and spun KXIP into disaster, first he had Vohra (36) who looked to slog him but was clean bowled and then two balls later leading edge from Glenn Maxwell’s (2) bat went straight to him and he took an easy return catch to see KXIP stumble to 93-4 at the end of 11 overs.

Wriddhiman Saha and George bailey then floundered to score as MI bowlers kept them tied. The duo could not score freely and added just 12 runs off 22 balls before Saha (3) was run-out. Man of the Match from last game Akshar Patel then started off with a four but he too soon perished for 6 runs with KXIP 116-6.

38-run stand toward the end between Bailey (39) and Rishi Dhawan (14*) then helped KXIP put a fighting total of 156-8. Jasprit Bumrah and Shreyas Gopal bagged two wickets each while Krishmar Santokie and Praveen Kumar picked one wicket apiece.

Power Play: 48-1

Playing XI
KXIP: Virender Sehwag, Manan Vohra, Glenn Maxwell, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Shaun Marsh, George Bailey(c), Akshar Patel, Rishi Dhawan, Sandeep Sharma, Shivam Sharma, Beuran Hendricks
MI: Michael Hussey, Lendl Simmons, Rohit Sharma(c), Ambati Rayudu, Kieron Pollard, Aditya Tare(w), Praveen Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Pragyan Ojha, Shreyas Gopal, Krishmar Santokie