Put to bat first Kings XI Punjab after a decent start lost its way in the middle but managed to score 179 thanks to nippy stand between
David Miller and George Bailey Virender Sehwag started in his typical fashion hammering bowlers from the word go but he did not last long as leading edge from his bat popped up to mid-on where V Malik took a simple catch. Sehwag scored 18 runs and all his runs came in boundaries, he hit three 4s and a six.

Manan Vohra then played some superb shots and took advantage of the fielding restrictions before casual running between the wickets cost him his wicket. He was out for 25 and KXIP’s score read 54-2 in 6.3 overs. Shaun Marsh held the innings together and found an able partner in Wriddhiman Saha. The two added 59 runs for the 3rd wicket with majority of runs coming from Marsh’s bat. Ajinkya Rahane took a spectacular catch on boundary ropes to dismiss Marsh (40) off V Malik.

After Marsh’s dismissal rain stopped the play but thankfully it went away soon and play started. Saha after the break looked to attack but he failed in doing so and holed out to Ajinkya Rahane who took another superb catch. At Saha’s (27) departure KXIP were 119-4 in 14.4 overs and after that it was David Miller and George Bailey show. The duo belted RR bowlers and smashed quick-fire 60 runs off just 32 balls for the 5th wicket to take KXIP to 179-4 in 20 overs. Miller and Bailey both remained unbeaten on 29 and 26 respectively.

Rahul Tewatia (1-24), James Faulkner (1-39) and V. Malik (1-29) scalped one wicket each.
Power Play: 56-2

Playing XI

KXIP: Manan Vohra, Virender Sehwag, Shaun Marsh, David Miller, George Bailey, Wriddhiman Saha, Akshar Patel, Rishi Dhawan, L. Balaji, Karanveer Singh, Beuran Hendricks

RR: Ajinkya Rahane, Karun Nair, Sanju Samson, Shane Watson, Stuart Binny, Brad Hodge, James Faulkner, Kevon Cooper, Rahul Tewatia, Vikramjeet Malik, Pravin Tambe