Chennai Super Kings edged out Mumbai Indians in a thrilling contest by four wickets to win their seventh game of season and first at Wankhede.

Chasing a tricky total of 158 CSK did not got off to a best possible start losing Brendon McCullum (13) lbw to Praveen Kumar in 5th over. In 8th over Suresh Raina (19) was given stumped by 3rd umpire as benefit of doubt did not go in favour of batsman.

Dwayne Smith and FAF du Plessis stabilised the CSK chase with a 61 run 3rd wicket stand. Praveen Kumar then broke the partnership as he had Smith caught at deep mid-wicket. Smith struggled throughout but he did not throw his wicket away and carried on to score another fifty. His innings of 57 included five 4s and three 6s.

10 runs later du Plessis (31) was cleaned up by a slower Yorker off Malinga and on next ball Ravindra Jadeja was lucky to survive as he was dead plumb but sub-standard umpiring in this IPL continued as Malinga’s appeal was turned down.

CSK needed 17 runs from 12 balls and Malinga bowled the 19th over. After giving couple singles and a double away Malinga bowled Jadeja (6) on penultimate ball of his over. On last ball of 19th over Mithun Manhas (1) sacrificed his wicket as he was run-out to make sure MS Dhoni’s faces last over.

With 11 needed off 6 balls Kieron Pollard was chosen ahead of Corey Anderson to bowl. He was under pressure first up as he bowled a wide delivery reducing target for CSK by one run. Dhoni’s swift running between the wickets had no match when he took double of second ball and then finished off in his trademark style hitting a six and four of consecutive balls. Dhoni finished unbeaten on 22 and CSK crossed the line with three balls to spare.

Earlier Lendl Simmons and Ambati Rayudu put on a 61 run stand for 2nd wicket to help Mumbai Indians post 157-6. Rayudu who completed his 9th half-century went on to score 59, hitting two 4s and four 6s. Corey Anderson finished unbeaten on 18 off 6 balls and his cameo made sure MI go past 150 run mark.

Ravi Ashwin (3-30) kept picking vital wickets for CSK while Mohit Sharma (1-26) was economical than others.

Man of the Match: Dwayne Smith

Brief Scores: CSK 160-6 (Smith 57, Malinga 2-15) beat MI 157-6 (Rayudu 59, Ashwin 3-30) by three wickets.

IPL 2014 Schedule: All Match Fixtures and Complete Time Table of IPL 7

IPL 2014 Points Table, Match Results and Team Standings