Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and elected to bat on a deck which had tinge of grass on it. KKR skipper Gautam Gambhir looked scratchy right from the beginning and it was Malinga’s Yorker that removed Gambhir for an eight ball duck. With first wicket down early and pitch behaving a little uncertain KKR managed 31 runs in Power Play as MI bowlers kept them in check.

Manish Pandey looked in good nick and was not afraid of playing big shots while Veteran Jacques Kallis was happy playing a sheet anchor role. At time-out KKR were 54/1 in 9 overs. Kallis and Pandey then steered the KKR innings with a partnership of 131 runs for the 2nd wicket. Runs did not come easy for the pair but towards the end duo showed the intent to up the ante. Pandey then fell to another Malinga Yorker for a well-made 64 off 53 balls. Robin Uthappa (1) was the third KKR wicket to fell and soon after his dismissal Kallis too departed for superb 72 runs with a strike rate of 156.5.

Suryakumar Yadav notched 13 runs off 5 balls and helped KKR post 163/5 in 20 overs. Rohit Sharma rotated his bowlers but Malinga and Zaheer were the only who fetched him wickets. Malinga in his four overs returned with figures of 4-23. Zaheer picked one wicket for 23 runs in his four overs.
PowerPlay: 31/1

Playing XI:

MI: Rohit Sharma(c), Michael Hussey, Aditya Tare(w), Ambati Rayudu, C Gautam, Kieron Pollard, Corey Anderson, Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga, Zaheer Khan, Pragyan Ojha
KKR: Gautam Gambhir(c), Jacques Kallis, Manish Pandey, Robin Uthappa(w), Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Suryakumar Yadav, Piyush Chawla, Vinay Kumar, Sunil Narine, Morne Morkel

Catch the live score of Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2014 match here

IPL 2014 Schedule: All Match Fixtures and Complete Time Table of IPL 7

IPL 2014 Points Table, Match Results and Team Standings