IPL 2014, MI vs KXIP: A glance at their previous IPL duels

The table toppers of IPL 2014 Kings XI Punjab take on the wooden spoon title contender Mumbai Indians in the match number 22 at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The match is possibly could not have been more ironical, with the KXIP yet to lose their single match while MI is looking to register their first win in this season of IPL 2014.

Kings XI Punjab is leading 7-5 head-to-head in their overall meetings in the six editions of IPL. Kings XI Punjab led by George Bailey has been in red hoot form while Mumbai Indians led by Rohit Sharma have just not managed to cross the finish line. Kings IX Punjab has been on an impressive run right from the start of the tournament. They were phenomenal in the UAE leg of IPL and would hope to continue their winning momentum on the Indian soil.

Mumbai Indians playing on the home ground at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai would be hoping to forget the nightmarish UAE stint. In their first game in Indian they are going against mighty Kings XI Punjab.

We take a look at the win-loss margin between the two teams in the last six editions of IPL.

Season Date Match Results
IPL 2008 25th April, 2008 Kings XI Punjab won by 66 runs
IPL 2008 21st May, 2008 Kings XI Punjab won by 1 run
IPL 2009 29th April, 2009 Kings XI Punjab won by 3 runs
IPL 2009 12th May, 2009 Mumbai Indians won by 8 wickets
IPL 2010 30th March, 2010 Mumbai Indians won by 4 wickets
IPL 2010 9th April, 2010 Kings XI Punjab won by 6 wickets
IPL 2011 2nd May, 2011 Mumbai Indians won by 23 runs
IPL 2011 10th May, 2011 Kings XI Punjab won by 79 runs
IPL 2012 22nd April, 2012 Kings XI Punjab won by 6 wickets
IPL 2012 25th April, 2012 Mumbai Indians won by 4 wickets
IPL 2013 29th April, 2013 Mumbai Indians won by 4 runs
IPL 2013 18th May, 2013 Kings XI Punjab won by 50 runs


The last time these two sides clashed, Kings XI Punjab posted a win by 50 runs over the defending champions Mumbai Indians. All odds might look against the Mumbai Indians, but captain Rohit Sharma will have to motivate his side to start a new beginning in IPL 2014.

IPL 2014 Schedule: All Match Fixtures and Complete Time Table of IPL 7

IPL 2014 Points Table, Match Results and Team Standings