Chennai Super Kings vs Delhi Daredevils Match Preview

Chennai Super Kings holds the number one position on points table and with the kind of form they are in looks like will stay there for some time. After defeating Kolkata Knight Riders at home they now travel to Delhi to face Delhi Daredevils who are stuck at number seven position. DD will strive for revenge against strong looking CSK for their 93 run loss in last encounter.

Power Punch

Chennai Super Kings openers Dwayne Smith and Brendon McCullum have done wonders for their team by scoring consistently at the top. Smith and McCullum are second and third highest run getters this season so far and have relieved the burden on middle order. Both have been instrumental in setting and chasing the target for CSK.

JP Duminy who occupies the fourth spot on most runs has been Delhi Daredevils consistent performer. Despite his team not doing so good and other big names in the team failing he has continued his decent form. Duminy’s runs have come mostly batting in death overs, he needs to be pushed up the order so that his services are utilised properly.

Weak Point

Suresh Raina has been a match-winner for CSK throughout earlier seasons but in his six outing so far he has managed to score just one half century. He bats at an important number three position and has to make sure that he carries on the good work done by openers rather than throwing his wicket away.

Delhi Daredevils’ two most expensive pick in this year’s auction Kevin Pietersen and Dinesh Karthik have not lived up to their reputation. They are the two most experienced batters in the line-up and need to take the responsibility head on.

Desi Touch

Sitting at top of most wickets column are CSK’s bowlers. Mohit Sharma holds the purple cap while Ravindra Jadeja is one wicket behind him. It is very crucial in any format that your bowlers respond and MS Dhoni has been lucky so far as his troops have not let him down.

Shahbaz Nadeem has been Daredevils’ foremost spinner but he has struggled to come to terms and needs to step up his game sooner. The left-armer has picked five wickets at an economy of 7.88 with Proteas spinner Imran Tahir expected to join the side Nadeem has to make sure he keeps his place intact.


DD: Kevin Pietersen (c), Dinesh Karthik (wk), JP Duminy, Ross Taylor, Mayank Agarwal, Murali Vijay, Manoj Tiwary, Saurabh Tiwary, Milind Kumar, Jimmy Neesham, Mohammed Shami, Jaydev Unadkat, Shahbaz Nadeem, Jayant Yadav, Rahul Shukla, Wayne Parnell, HS Sharath, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Kedar Jadhav, Siddarth Kaul, Rahul Sharma, Quinton de Kock, Nathan Coulter-Nile.

CSK: MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Suresh Raina, Francois du Plessis, Dwayne Smith, Brendon McCullum, Ashish Nehra, Mohit Sharma, Ishwar Pandey, Ben Hilfenhaus, John Hastings, Samuel Badree, Matt Henry, Mithun Manhas, Vijay Shankar, Ronit More, Baba Aparajith, Pawan Negi.

IPL 2014 Schedule: All Match Fixtures and Complete Time Table of IPL 7

IPL 2014 Points Table, Match Results and Team Standings