Put to bat first Sunrisers Hyderabad after a good start fell apart and were restricted to 134 in 20 overs thanks to valiant bowling effort by Rajat Bhatia and Shane Watson. Captain Shikhar Dhawan started off in an explosive manner and raced to 33 off 20 balls before being bowled off Shane Watson. He hit seven 4s in his short stay at crease and took SRH to 37-1 in four overs.

It was Aaron Finch’s turn to take SRH forward but he looked out of touch and was superbly caught by Ajinkya Rahane for 10 runs. Soon after Finch’s dismissal SRH middle order collapsed losing three wickets for just 34 runs. Lokesh Rahul (18), Naman Ojha (17) and David Warner (6) were the wickets to fell leaving SRH 91-5 in13 overs.

Watson who dismissed Shikhar Dhawan on last ball of his first over came back for second spell and picked two consecutive wickets to claim another hat-trick by Rajasthan Royals bowler. He first dismissed Australian all-rounder Mosses Henriques who replaced Darren Sammy for his first game this season, he was caught by Rahane at long-off for 9 runs and then had Karn Sharma (0) caught behind.

With all the major batsmen back in the hutch Sunrisers Hyderabad scored 134-9 in 20 overs courtesy Irfan Pathan’s run a ball 21. Pravin Tambe (1-21) and Rajat Bhatia (3-23) both bowled superbly but it was Watson who led from the front (3-13) with a hat-trick.

Power Play: 50-1

Playing XI:

RR: Karun Nair, Ajinkya Rahane, Sanju Samson(w), Shane Watson(c), Stuart Binny, Steven Smith, Rajat Bhatia, James Faulkner, Pravin
Tambe, Dhaval Kulkarni, Kane Richardson.

SRH: Shikhar Dhawan(c), Aaron Finch, David Warner, Lokesh Rahul, Moises Henriques, Naman Ojha(w), Irfan Pathan, Karn Sharma, Amit Mishra, Dale Steyn, Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

IPL 2014 Schedule: All Match Fixtures and Complete Time Table of IPL 7

IPL 2014 Points Table, Match Results and Team Standings