Sunrisers Hyderabad held onto nerves to clinch their first win of the tournament as they beat Delhi Daredevils by 4 runs. Chasing 185 DD were contentedly paced after new opening pair of Murali Vijay and Quinton de Kock piled up 99 runs for the first wicket. Vijay and de Kock played handsome strokes upfront to lay a solid foundation, but a timid approach by middle order cost DD a game.

de Kock (48) was the first batsman to go as he took the initiative to speed up the chase, but a mistimed slog sweep went straight in the
hands of deep mid-wicket. Murali Vijay (52) after completing his fifty then followed the suit in next over and played straight to Dale Steyn, who pouched a simple catch at long-on. SRH with two quick wickets pegged back DD.

Onus then was on the two most expensive players in DD camp Kevin Pietersen and Dinesh Karthik to see their side home, but valiant effort by Steyn made sure SRH stay in the game. The speedster picked wickets of Karthik (15) and Pietersen (16) in two consecutive balls to make chase difficult for DD.

JP Duminy (20*) and Manoj Tiwary (23*) tried hard to belt team out of trouble and even looked almost to tie the game, but impressive death bowling by Dale Steyn and Bhuvneshwar Kumar made sure no freebies were on offer.

Steyn finished with figures of 2-33 in his four over, while Karan Sharma and Darren Sammy picked one wicket each. Earlier, Sunrisers won the toss and elected to bat. Aaron Finch and David Warner played gem of an innings to see SRH post a huge total of 184. Finch scored his 5th IPL fifty while Warner smashed his 11th. Both Finch and Warner finished unbeaten on 88 and 58. While other bowlers struggled to scalp wickets, Shahbaz Nadeem was the lone wicket taker for Delhi Daredevils.

Man of the Match: Aaron Finch

Brief Scores: SRH 184-1 (Finch 88*, Nadeem 1-24) beat DD 180-4 (Vijay
52, Steyn 2-33) by  four runs.