A disciplined bowling effort by Kolkata Knight Riders contained Sunrisers Hyderabad to 142-7 after SRH elected to bat first. There was change in guard for SRH as they decided to handover reigns to Darren Sammy to reduce the burden on Shikhar Dhawan. In 2nd over
Umesh Yadav removed Aaron Finch (8) after being hit for a four and gave KKR an early breakthrough. Gautam Gambhir introduced Sunil Narine inside power play and he rewarded his captain by scalping Dhawan (19) who once again threw his wicket away after getting good start.

Shakib Al Hassan was brought into the attack and he straight away created a chance but Robin Uthappa was not agile enough as he missed the stumping, Naman Ojha was the lucky batsman. Warner and Ojha hit some big shots and looked like the duo will bat on but in 9th over Shakib tossed up to Ojha who played it straight to point and SRH lost their third wicket with 64 runs on board.

Lokesh Rahul then joined Warner out in the middle. Warner kept playing his strokes and Rahul too pushed for an occasional boundary to keep score moving. In 13th over Piyush Chawla’s googly had Rahul (14) trapped lbw and in next over Warner (34) smacked straight to Yusuf Pathan at mid-wicket off Umesh Yadav to leave SRH floundering at 104-5 in 13.2 overs.

Darren Sammy looked out of touch and his struggle ended in 19th over when he tried to hit low full toss but was caught by Manish Pandey at long-off. He scored 7 runs off 16 balls. Irfan Pathan played a good hand and scored valuable 23 not out to see SRH reach 142-7 in 20 overs.

Sunil Narine (1-21) and Piyush Chawla (1-24) bagged one wicket each while Shakib Al Hassan (2-22) and Umesh Yadav (3-26) scalped two and three wickets respectively.

Power Play: 41-2

Playing XI
KKR: Gautam Gambhir(c), Robin Uthappa(w), Manish Pandey, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Suryakumar Yadav, Piyush Chawla, Morne Morkel, Sunil Narine, Umesh Yadav
SRH: Aaron Finch, Shikhar Dhawan, Naman Ojha(w), David Warner, Lokesh Rahul, Darren Sammy(c), Irfan Pathan, Karn Sharma, Dale Steyn, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Amit Mishra