Aaron finch and David Warner helped Sunrisers Hyderabad to reach 157-3 in 20 overs after SRH won the toss and decided to bat first on their home turf. Shikhar Dhawan’s struggle at top continues as he was SRH’s first wicket to fell. Lasith Malinga bowled a swinging Yorker to knock off Dhawan’s (11) middle stump.

31 run stand between Lokesh Rahul and Aaron Finch for the 2nd wicket then came to an end when Rahul (10) charged down for a single only to be sent back by finch and Rohit Sharma was accurate to hit stumps directly. At the end of 10 overs SRH were 73-2. The Australian openers Finch and David Warner then took the charge and kept the scoreboard ticking. Both batsmen looked comfortable against MI bowlers and cleared boundaries at regular intervals. Finch in the process brought up his 6th IPL fifty, it took him 41 balls to reach the milestone. Warner at the other end kept pushing for 1s and 2s.

Around 15th over spinners Harbhajan Singh (0-27) and Pragyan Ojha (0-32) finished their spells with both failing to provide any
breakthrough. Lasith Malinga (2-35) once again was effective and in the penultimate over of SRH innings picked a vital wicket of Finch (68), he was also hit for two sixes in that over by Warner thus ruining his figures.

Finch and Warner’s 63 run stand lasted for nine overs and gave SRH innings the stability. Kieron Pollard then bowled the last over and was taken for 18 runs, Warner finished unbeaten on 55 off 31 balls his 14th IPL fifty and Naman Ojha scored seven off 3 balls with one hit over the fence.

Power Play: 43-1

Playing XI
MI: Lendl Simmons, CM Gautam(w), Ambati Rayudu, Rohit Sharma(c), Corey Anderson, Kieron Pollard, Aditya Tare, Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah, Pragyan Ojha
SRH: Shikhar Dhawan(c), Aaron Finch, David Warner, Lokesh Rahul, Naman Ojha(w), Irfan Pathan, Moises Henriques, Dale Steyn, Karn Sharma, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar