New Delhi, March 28: After Cricket Australia handed one year suspension to Australian cricketers Steve Smith and David Warner for the ball-tampering row, the BCCI has now banned the duo from participating in the Indian Premier League 2018 season.

“They (Cricket Australia) have banned two players and we are also barring these two players from this year’s IPL,” IPL chairman Rajeev Shukla told reporters today.

“We wanted everything in our own hands. First, we waited for ICC’s decision, after that Cricket Australia and then we decided on the matter.

“We have decided to bar them from this season. The replacements will be made available to the two teams. We did not take any decision in haste, it was a well thought out decision,” he added.

Smith and Warner, along with Cameron Bancroft, were ordered to return home midway into the series yesterday.

Earlier, according to reports Cricket Australia on Wednesday has banned former captain Smith and ex vice-captain Warner for a period of 12 months.

While Cameron Bancroft, the third member of the trio who have been found by Cricket Australia’s internal investigation to have conspired to alter the condition of the ball at Newlands, has also been banned for nine months. (With PTI inputs).