There is run feast in T20 cricket. Sixes and fours keep rolling as batsmen have full license to go for a kill. Humongous hits, delicate strokes every shot in the book and even out of book shots are on display. With glamorous IPL it just gets bigger. Throughout IPL seasons there have been gigantic effort by the batsmen.

The orange cap has been traditionally awarded to the batsmen scoring the most amount of runs in a particular edition of the IPL. The cap has been held by players like Shaun Marsh, Matthew Hayden, Sachin Tendulkar, Michael Hussey and Chris Gayle (twice) in the previous editions and players would be looking to add their names to this elite list this year. The practice was started in the first edition itself and was inspired by the Tour de France races where the leader of the race is given the yellow jersey.

SR. NoName of PlayerMatchInningsRunsAverageHighestStrike RateNo. of 4’sNo. of 6’s50’s100’s
1Glenn Maxwell9947452.6695198.32442940
2Dwayne Smith9939644.0079139.43312750
3Brendon McCullum9932740.8771122.93301230
4Robin Uthappa9930233.6565125.31310820
5David Miller9929742.4266162.29241630

Find out who is leading the Purple Cap table in IPL 2014.

Let’s dip in the past and recapitulate the list of Orange cap holders (most runs) of all seasons.

IPL 6, 2013: In last IPL season Mr Cricket Michael Hussey scored 733 runs for Chennai Super Kings at an average of 52.35 in 17 innings. The elder Hussey scored six 50s during his stint. He had a strike rate of 129.5 and fell five runs short of notching a ton as his highest score in this season remained 95.

IPL 5, 2012: Chris Gayle for second consecutive year retained the orange cap as the ‘’Jamaican jabber’’ scored 733 runs in 14 innings. He scored a ton and seven 50s at a strike rate of 160.74. The Royal Challenger Bangalore opener averaged 61.08. Believe it or not Gayle hit 59 6s, yes 59 during this season that equals to approx. 49% of his total runs. Hail Gayle!

IPL 4, 2011: This was for the first time Chris Gayle was orange cap holder in IPL. He hit two centuries and three 50s during this season and scored 608 runs for RCB in 12 matches. The runs came at a staggering strike rate of 183.13, the highest so far by an orange cap holder.

IPL 3, 2010: Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar was the orange cap holder in third season. He clubbed 618 runs in 15 matches for Mumbai Indians averaging 47.53. Sachin went past 50 runs for five times but could not score a century. Ironically, he managed to hit only three 6s throughout the season.

IPL 2, 2009: The burly Mathew Hayden for Chennai Super Kings scored 572 runs in 12 matches. He averaged exact 52 and had strike rate of 144.81. Former Aussie opener scored five 50s.

IPL 1, 2008: King XI Punjab opener Shaun Marsh was the first to hold orange cap. In the inaugural season Marsh scored 616 runs in 11 matches. He averaged 68.44 and had one century to his credit along with five 50s.

Trivia: In six seasons so far there has been no Orange Cap holder from a winning team.