IPL 7: Shikhar Dhawan replaces Kumar Sangakkara as Sunrisers Hyderabad’s new captain

IPL 7 is shaping to be one interesting contest with the way each team is announcing their captains. Hyderabad franchise Sunrisers Hyderabad who replaced Deccan chargers in last edition of IPL have shown faith in the young southpaw Shikhar Dhawan with the responsibility of leading the side in the coming IPL 2014.

Shikhar Dhwan has been a part of the Sunrisers Hyderabad and based on his fine run shown at the international as well as this format of the game, the owners decided on making him the leader of the side. Shikhar Dhwan led the side in the Champions League T20. He would be assisted by West Indies all-rounder Darren Sammy who is made the Vice-Captain of the side. The team also boasts of Indian spinner Amit Mishra and South African pace giant Dale Steyn who are on top of their games in the on-going ICC World Twenty 20, 2014 in Bangladesh.

By making Shikhar Dhawan, the captain of the side, Sunrisers Hyderabad would have freedom on playing the four foreign players in the side well. It will be quite an interesting show to watch the various combinations this side gets to field against their opponents. Sunrisers Hyederbad have made it to the playoffs in the sixth edition of Indian Premier League. Sri Lankan player Kumar Sangakkara led the side in the inaugural season for Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2013.

IPL 7 will kick-start from April 16 with the schedule and venue of the first 30 matches of the UAE leg has been announced.