Semi-finalist in the inaugural season and after that Kings XI Punjab failed to tread past group stages despite possessing a strong squad. KXIP in their last three seasons have maintained a win-loss ratio of 50% each season.

‘’Killer Miller’’ David Miller and Young  right handed batsman Manan Vohra were the two players KXIP retained ahead of 2014 auction. Ashes star Mitchell Johnson was team’s most expensive player as KXIP expended INR 6.5 crore on him. His sensational team mate Glen Maxwell was bought for INR 6 crore. Team’s best buy came in form of Virender Sehwag for INR 3.2 crore (perhaps deal of the season).  The deal did not end there as KXIP went on to pick some prominent faces of world cricket at a smart price. George Bailey who has been appointed as team’s captain was bought for INR 3.25 crore. Shaun Marsh, Cheteshwar Pujara and Thisara Perera came at an expenditure of INR 2.2, 1.9 and 1.6 crore respectively.

Batting: KXIP has variety in their batting list. From ‘’Nawab of Najafgarh’’ Virender Sehwag to Indian test batting mainstay Cheteshwar Pujara, in-between them fit the likes of Miller, Marsh, Bailey and Maxwell. All eyes will be on Sehwag as IPL can be headway for him to get back into the national team.

Bowling: Mitchell Johnson forms the nucleus of KXIP bowling. L Balaji, Sandeep Sharma, Murali Kartik and Beuran Hendricks play supporting role to the Aussie speedster. Spinning department lacks vitality as aged Kartik and rookie Shivam Sharma are the only two specialist spinners in KXIP squad.

All-rounders: Glenn Maxwell, Rishi Dhawan and Thisara Perera pile up as the belligerent All-rounders.

Support Staff: Former Indian all-rounder Sanjay Bangar is team’s coach. Joe Dawes team India’s bowling coach has same role with KXIP and R Sridhar comes as fielding coach.


Indian Players: Virender Sehwag, Cheteshwar Pujara, Manan Vohra, Murali Kartik, Parvinder Awana, L Balaji, Sandeep Sharma, Shardul Thakur, Anureet Singh, Shivam Sharma, Rishi Dhawan, Mandeep Singh, Akhshar Patel, Karanveer Singh, Gurkeerat Mann, Wriddhiman Saha

Foreign Players: George Bailey, Mitchell Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, David Miller, Thisara Perera, Beuran Hendricks.