From one end you could hear the roar of Mumbai Indians supporters while the other side sings ‘Korbo Lorbo Jeetbo’ for Kolkata Knight Riders. With this hue and cry one can understand, IPL 2014 is round the corner. Very few hours to go when the IPL 7 – Manoranjan ka Baap will kick-start and all you have to do is Kanna Keep  Calm with Pepsi IPL 7. And the first match could not have been better than IPL 2013 and Champions League T20 title winner Mumbai Indians take on 2012 champion Kolkata Knight Riders. And what makes this battle of super sides more interesting is the mini battle of players within the two sides. Let us take a look between the major mini-battles:

Rohit Sharma (MI) vs  Gautam Gambhir (KKR)


Rohit Sharma led the Mumbai Indians side to their first ever IPL victory in the sixth edition. He then followed it up with another title of Champions League T20 and will be under the huge expectations of repeating the feat again. On the other hand is overlooked Indian opener and Kolkata Knight Riders captain Gautam Gambhir, who will be itching to prove a point to the selectors and the nation. It will be quite an interesting battle between these two high on aggression captains in the opening match.

Kieron Pollard (MI) vs Yusuf Pathan (KKR)


Both the players, Kieron Pollard for Mumbai Indians and Yusuf Pathan for Kolkata Knight Riders respectively are ‘one man army’ that can change the course of match with their individual performance. These two all-rounders are double edged sword, where they do the damage not only with their ferocious batting but also with their smart bowling. Whoever clicks for their side, it will not be easy to guess who wins the day.

Pragyan Ojha (MI) vs Sunil Narine (KKR)


Pragyan Ojha has tasted the success of being the Champions not once but twice, firstly with the Deccan Chargers side in 2008 and last year with Mumbai Indians in 2013. He is not only the fourth highest wicket taker but an asset in this cash rich tournament. Well, giving him tough competition is the unorthodox Sunil Narine, whose unique style of delivery is still to be figured by many. His ability of getting dot balls makes him a valuable player for the side.

The list of the star players are many with the likes of Lasith Malinga, Mike Hussey from the Mumbai Indians side and Robin Utthappa, Ryan ten Doeschate from Kolkata Knight Riders that have the potential of being the match winners in the inaugural match of IPL 2014.