Inaugural edition of IPL belonged to then underdogs Rajasthan Royals, Who under the spirited captaincy of Shane Warne against all odds clinched the title. This season RR will hope luck to float their way.

Rajasthan Royal squad is largest of all with 25 players on board. Shane Watson who has been given the responsibility of leading the team was retained along with Ajinkya Rahane, Stuart Binny, Sanju Samson and James Faulkner from 2013 season. In this year’s auction RR bought Steve Smith for INR 4 crore. Unmukt Chand was picked for INR 65 lakh and experienced T20 campaigner Brad Hodge for INR 2.4 crore. 42 years old leg break bowler Pravin Tambe who was impressive with his bowling in Champions League 2013 for RR was bought for INR 10 lakh.

Batting: There is plenty of depth in RR batting. Ajinkya Rahane, Sanju Samson, Shane Watson, Brad Hodge, Unmukt Chand and Steve Smith shape as formidable line up. James Faulkner can be used as a floater and with few young guns stepping in team’s batting looks afresh.

Bowling: Majority of RR bowling come from their all-rounder category. Dhaval Kulkarni, Tim Southee, Iqbal Abdullah and Pravin Tambe balance the bowling attack.

All-rounders: RR is heavily packed with all-rounders. The list goes like: Shane Watson, Stuart Binny, James Faulkner, Steve Smith, Rajat Bhatia, Kevin Cooper and Abhishek Nayar. In T20 cricket they are an asset and if they are world class it is icing on the cake then.

Support Staff: Former team India mental conditioning coach Paddy Upton is team’s head coach while Indian batting legend Rahul Dravid is team’s mentor.


Indian Players: Ajinkya Rahane, Sanju Samson, Stuart Binny, Rajat Bhatia, Abhishek Nayar, Unmukt Chand, Pravin Tambe, Dhaval Kulkarni, Iqbal Abdullah, Karun Nair, Rahul Tewatia, Dishank Yagnik, Ankush Bains, Deepak Hooda, Ankit Sharma, Vikramjeet Malik, Amit Mishra.

Foreign Players: Shane Watson, James Faulkner, Steve Smith, Brad Hodge, Kevin Cooper, Tim Southee, Ben Cutting, Kane Richardson.