Out of the national team due to injury, Rohit Sharma was named the captain of the India ‘Blue’ team that will take on Tamil Nadu — 2017 Vijay Hazare Trophy winners — and India ‘Red’ in this year’s Deodhar Trophy in Vizag.

The national selectors met on Tuesday to pick the India ‘Blue’ and India ‘Red’ teams for the tournament which will be held from March 25. The India ‘Red’ outfit will be led by wicket-keeper Parthiv Patel.

Rohit sustained the injury during the ODI series against New Zealand in October and while he did play for Mumbai in the Vijay Hazare Trophy, he managed scores of 16 and 4 only. Rohit will definitely look to use this tournament to not only prepare for the IPL, but also spend some time in the middle after the long injury lay-off.


India ‘Blue’: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Mandeep Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ambati Rayudu, Manoj Tiwary, Rishabh Pant (wk), Deepak Hooda, Harbhajan Singh, Krunal Pandya, Shahbaz Nadeem, Siddarth Kaul, Shardul Thakur, Prasidh Krishna, Pankaj Rao

India ‘Red’: Parthiv Patel (Captain & wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Mayank Agarwal, Kedar Jadhav, Ishank Jaggi, Gurkeerat Mann, Axar Patel, Akshay Karnewar, Ashok Dinda, Kulwant Khejroliya, Dhawal Kulkarni, Govinda Poddar