Royal challengers Bangalore have qualified three times for knockout stages and have failed equal number of times to go past group stage. With no title under their belt RCB will be hoping to turn the tables this season.

Going into the auction RCB retained skipper Virat Kohli along with opener Chris Gayle and middle order batsman AB de Villiers. Southpaw Yuvraj Singh was top buy for the team, as RCB grabbed the currently out of touch ‘’Punjab Powerhouse’’ for whooping INR 14 crore making him the expensive player in 2014 auction.

RCB also picked Aussie pace bowler Mitchell Starc for INR 5 Crore, Indian wicketkeeper batsman Parthiv Patel for INR 1.4 crore. Slow left arm bowler Shadab Jakati who previously played for Chennai Super Kings was bought for INR 20 lakh. RCB also bought India U19 Captain Vijay Zol for a bargain price of INR 30 lakh.

Batting: Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh and AB de Villiers configure the superlative batting side on show in IPL. Parthiv Patel and Vijay Zol add that extra zing to RCB batting.

Bowling: It will be interesting to see how the ‘’smiling assassin’’ Muttiah Muralitharan unfolds in perhaps his last IPL stint. Varun Aaron, Ashok Dinda, Ravi Rampaul and Mitchell Starc will share the load of pace attack between them. Shadab Jakati and Yuzvendra Chahal will give each other a tough time for a place in playing XI.

All-rounders: Albie Morkel may be the sole specialist allrounder but Yuvraj Singh and Chris Gayle are handy with the ball too in T20 format. Thus RCB will bank on these players to contribute in both the departments.

Support Staff: Ex-RCB Captain Daniel Vettori is now the head coach. Former South Africa pacer Allan Donald has been appointed as bowling coach while Trent woodhill is team’s batting and fielding coach.


Indian Players: Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Parthiv Patel, Vijay Zol, Varun Aaron, Ashok Dinda, An Ahmed, Harshal Patel , Shadab Jakati, Sandeep Warrier, Tanmay Mishra, Yogesh Takawale, Sachin Rana, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Foreign Players: Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ravi Rampaul, Albie Morkel, Mitchell Starc, Nic Maddinson.