AFP/Getty Images

Cloud loomed over the participation of injury hit Faf du Plessis and Dale Steyn before the match, while Steyn finally made it to playing XI, du Plessis missed out and AB de Villiers stand in captain came out for the toss, which he lost and Sri Lanka decided to bat first.

An eventful over first up saw Dale Steyn struggling a bit and Kusal Perera without wasting his time went out of shell, he hit couple of fours and one hit over the fence before Tillakaratne Dilshan (0) was cleaned up on the last ball, 17/1 read score and all this happened in first over.

Perera went on to play his shots in typical Sanath Jayasuriya fashion. At other end Mahela Jayawardene (9) tried to replicate Perera; however he handed a catch to mid-on fielder.

Kumar Sangakkara then joined Perera and the two marched along nicely, with Perera completing his 5th half century off 29 balls. In 10th over Imran Tahir was introduced into the attack and he delivered straight away dismissing Sangakkara (14).  Angelo Mathews and Perera added 23 runs for the 4th wicket before Perera (61) misread Tahir’s wrong one and was caught.

Captain Dinesh Chandimal took over from where Perera Left and scored cheeky 12 off 9 balls his dismissal brought left handed Thisara Perera (8) at the crease who was looking to smash every ball but Morne Morkel,  who finished with figures of 4-0-31-2 cleaned him up.

Mathews kept his wicket intact at one end and scored 43 runs before being bowled by Dale Steyn in the last over. Sri Lanka ended on 165/7 in their allotted 20 overs.

Dale Steyn who was expensive in his first over came back strong to finish on 4-0-37-2. Imran Tahir looked good and with his variation plugged the Sri Lankan run flow as he finished with figures of 4-0-26-3

PowerPlay: 51/2

Playing xi:

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Dinesh Chandimal (Capt), Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera, Nuwaan Kulasekara, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga.

South Africa: Quinton de Kock (wk), Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, AB de Villiers (Capt), David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Albie Morkel, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Imran Tahir.