Sunrisers Hyderabad replaced one time champion Deccan Chargers (now defunct) in 2013 and in its inaugural season the team did well to qualify for playoffs but were eventually eliminated. SRH will be hoping that in their second season they rise to the occasion.

SRH retained only two Players, opener Shikhar Dhawan and fast bowler Dale Steyn. Dhawan also replaces Kumara Sangakkara as team’s captain. SRH in this year’s auction bought Aussie T20 openers David Warner for INR 5.5 crore and Aaron Finch for INR 4 crore. Leg spinner Amit Mishra was bought for INR 4.75 crore. Darren Sammy who will be deputy to Dhawan came in for INR 3.5 crore. Team India pace men Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ishant Sharma were also picked for INR 4.25 and 2.6 crore respectively. SRH will also get services of “Baroda Bomber” Irfan Pathan, as he was obtained for a snip price of INR 2.4 crore.

Batting: Australian opening combination of David Warner and Aaron Finch make up for a dazzling pair, the duo had a poor outing in recently concluded World T20 as per their standard. Shikhar Dhawan’s recent run could also worry team but playing as a captain may actually pump him up to perform. Wicketkeeper Naman Ojha will be another prospect SRH will be looking up to deliver. Form may the only factor which makes SRH batting a bit crippled otherwise they are a bunch of corkers.

Bowling: Dale Steyn will spear the team’s bowling, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Irfan Pathan and Ishant Sharma will partner him in pace department. Amit Mishra will be team’s leading spinner to toss it up and hunt down batsmen.

All-rounders: Darren Sammy proficiency with both bat and ball make him a dazzling all-rounder. Moises Henriques, Irfan Pathan and Jammu Kashmir Ranji Captain Parvez Rasool can be banked upon for dual roles.

Support Staff: Tom Moody is team’s head coach. He will be assisted by Simon Helmet. Former Pakistan Speedster and Captain Waqar Younis is team’s bowling coach. Krish Srikkanth and VVS Laxman merge as mentors.


Indian Players: Shikhar Dhawan, Amit Mishra, Irfan Pathan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Naman Ojha, Karan Sharma, Parvez Rasool, KL Rahul, Venugopal Rao, S Anirudha, Manprit Juneja, Ricky Bhui, Amit Paunikar, P Parameswaran, Ashish Reddy, Chama Millind.

Foreign Players: Dale Steyn, Darren Sammy, David Warner, Aaron Finch, Moises Henriques, Jason Holder, Brendon Taylor.