New Delhi: Forget T20 leagues! T10 Cricket League (TCL) is the new kid on the block. While the T20 format was introduced to make cricket more appealing, T10- ten overs per side- aims to make the sport further entertaining.

The inaugural edition of the T10 Cricket League will take place next month at Sharjah International Cricket Stadium, UAE. And what makes TCL interesting is the players it boasts of. Apart from scores of current cricketers, the teams also feature some former players like India’s Virender Sehwag, former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi and former Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara. 

India vs New Zealand: Ross Taylor Adds Spice to His ‘Darji’ Banter With Virender Sehwag

India vs New Zealand: Ross Taylor Adds Spice to His ‘Darji’ Banter With Virender Sehwag

The tournament will be played between six teams namely- Maratha Arabians, Bengal Lions, Bengal Lions, Pakhtoons, Punjabi Legends and a Sri Lankan based team to be announced later.

The teams mostly comprise of players from Pakistan, Bangladesh, Windies and UAE. Some of the prominent players include Mohammad Amir, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Sarfraz Ahmed, Sunil Narine and Mustafizur Rahman.

“T10 Cricket League is the evolution of the cricket game, from 50 over games down to 10 over games. It is going to be the trendsetter since it is the shortest and the fastest game in the cricket history, each side is only given ten overs. The cricket sport is one of the most popular games in the world, and we believe the cricket supporters are ready to accelerate to this quick and enjoyable 90-minute format,” stated the tournament’s official website.

“Local and international cricket supporters must not miss the non-stop entertainment integrated within the game. Weekend tournaments are the most awaited because the T10 Cricket league is meant to maximise audience’s leisure over the weekends and it lasts for only four days,” it added.