West Indies Cricket Board has announced a 13-man squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Afghanistan. West Indies after failing to qualify for ICC Champions Trophy 2017 will host minnows Afghanistan in a three-match T20I and One-Day International (ODI) series starting June 03 (as per IST). Ronsford Beaton is the only uncapped player in the squad. Beaton is the right-arm fast medium bowler.

Test and ODI skipper Jason Holder has been rested for the T20Is. Carlos Brathwaite will continue the lead the side in the shorter format. “After the T20 Series against Pakistan [which was lost 3-1] we felt that it was important to keep the same group together so that the coaches can continue developing the young players,” Courtney Browne, the chairman of the selection panel, was quoted as saying by AFP. Also Read- Champions Trophy 2017: Pakistan can beat India, says Inzamam-ul-Haq

“This coupled with the vast T20 experience of some of our senior players can help us to build a very formidable unit.” West Indies, the defending world T20 champions, insisted they will not take Afghanistan lightly, especially as the Asian side are pushing hard to be granted Test match status. “In developing a high performance unit there is never room for complacency and our expectation is to win against a team that is ranked lower than us in the ICC rankings,” he added.

Warner Park in St Kitts will host all the three T20I matches before teams travel to Darren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet, St Lucia for ODI series. Also Read- AB de Villiers hints at Test cricket comeback for South Africa

Afghanistan has been doing well in international cricket. And interestingly, the last time these two teams met at the World T20 2016, Afghanistan emerged victorious. West Indies are the reigning T20I champions.

West Indies T20I Squad: Carlos Brathwaite (c), Samuel Badree, Ronsford Beaton, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton (wk), Kesrick Williams.