After the slow red-clay surface of French Open, the tennis world is all set to move to the luscious green courts of All England Club. Novak Djokovic and Serena Williams are given the top seeds for Wimbledon Championships, 2014. The third grand slam of the year is all set to begin from 23rd June to 6th July.

Defending champion Andy Murray has been seeded third while French Open 2014 winner Rafael Nadal finds himself behind Novak Djokovic at No. 2. Seven-time champion Swiss Ace Roger Federer is seeded No. 4 and 2014 Australian Open winner Stanislas Wawrinka, seeded No. 5 completes the top five of the Men’s Singles seeding.

It is a little-known fact that Wimbledon remains to be the only grand slam that does not stick to the current world rankings while handing seeds but decides on the performance of the player over the last two years.

Andy Murray with his third seed, a rise of two places from his world ranking is now sure of not clashing with either of Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic before the semi-finals. The surprise inclusion of Milos Raonic, who hails from Canada, is seeded at No. 10. from Young player from Bulgeria Grigor Dimitrov has been seeded 11th, courtesy his win at Queen’s Park.

Serena Williams might have lost in the second round at Roland Garros but that has not reflected in her seeding as she is the top ranked player at the Wimbledon. She is followed by Li Na of China, French Open 2014 finalist Simona Halep of Romania, Polish beauty Agnieszka Radwanska. Maria Sharapova who is fresh out of her second French Open title is seeded No. 5. Ana Ivanovic of Serbia has been handed 11th seed after her win in the Wimbledon warm up tournament Aegon Classic.

Take a look at the top 10 seeds at All England Club:


Men’s Singles Seeds

Women’s Singles Seeds


Novak Djokovic (Ser)

Serena Williams (US)


Rafael Nadal (Spa)

Li Na (China)


Andy Murray (GB)

Simona Halep (Rom)


Roger Federer (Swi)

Agnieszka Radwanska (Pol)


Stanislas Wawrinka (Swi)

Maria Sharapova (Rus


Tomas Berdych (Cze)

Petra Kvitova (Cze)


David Ferrer (Spa)

Jelena Jankovic (Ser)


Milos Raonic (Can)

Victoria Azarenka (Blr)


John Isner (US)

Angelique Kerber (Ger)


Kei Nishikori (Jpn)

Dominika Cibulkova (Svk)