New Delhi: The counting of votes for Begusarai Assembly Constituency of Bihar took place on Tuesday. Notably, the Begusarai seat went to polls in the second phase of Bihar assembly elections i.e. on November 3. Also Read - Karnataka Minister Makes Shocking Remark, Says Farmers Who Die by Suicide Are Cowards

BJP candidate Kundan Kumar won the seat by 39.80 per cent votes. Also Read - Rahul Gandhi Slams Modi Government Over Coronavirus Vaccine, Asks 'What Does PM Stand By'

In 2015 Vidhan Sabha elections, Begusarai seat was won by Congress’s Amita Bhushan by a margin of 9.7% votes. Bhasin had defeated BJP and secured the seat, which was known as saffron party’s bastion. Cut to this year’s election, BJP fielded Ramshankar Paswan. From the grand alliance, Amita Bhushan was in the fray on Congress’s ticket. Also Read - Swara Bhasker Takes on BJP MP Rakesh Sinha on Twitter, Reminds Him of Farm Protest

Begusarai Constituency Election Result UPDATES:

1) BJP has taken an early lead in Begusarai constituency. The party has fielded Ramshankar Paswan from the seat.

2) Congress has taken lead now.

3) Amita Bhushan of Congress is leading from the seat.

4) Congress’s Amita Bhushan maintains lead on the seat

5) Kundan Kumar of BJP has won the seat.

The election has been a tough one for the ruling NDA as their Chief Minister candidate Nitish Kumar is fighting anti-incumbency. All eyes are now glued on Bihar elections results and it remains to be seen if Nitish Kumar can retain the power or lose the throne to Mahagathbandhan (grand alliance), helmed by RJD’s Tejashwi Yadav.

The exit polls– conducted on November 7– have given a clear edge to Mahagathbandhan. They are predicted to get 128-180 seats, crossing the magic mark of 122. The ruling NDA is predicted to bag 69-99 seats. Chirag Paswan’s party LJP, which broke away from the NDA coalition in Bihar and decided to go solo, is projected to get 2-8 assembly seats.